sonofthepreacherman

Just another WordPress.com site

How long did creation take?

There are several different views on creation, even in Christian circles. I will confine this post to the three I have heard of. Those three are the 24/7 view,which says Creation took seven twenty-four hour days; the day-age view, which says creation, while ordered by God, took millions of years; and the framework position, which does not confine itself to any particular length of time, or even the order in which things were created. Remember, feel free to comment on what I write. It will be a big help. I am attempting to shed a little bit of light on the subject. I will do this by asking questions to challenge each of the viewpoints, and do my best to answer them as if I believed in that view.

This paragraph is the defense of the 24/7 view. The question: How do you know that days 1-3 were “normal 24-hour days” if the sun and moon hadn’t been created yet? My answer to this is that Moses, the writer of Genesis, and ancient Israel, the people to whom the Old Testament was written, would not have understood the idea that a day would mean millions of years, so the Hebrew word in Genesis that says “day” actually means “day.” This means that in order for you to say that the word day in Genesis does not mean an actual day, you say the Bible is not infallible. And since we know that the Bible is infallible, being the word of God, we know that there must have been one week in creation.

This is a defense of the Day-Age position. The question: In the few Old Testament passages where day does not mean 24 hours, doesn’t the context determine the meaning? What in the context of Genesis 1 tells us that day does not mean 24 hours? A possible answer to this would be that, although there isn’t anything in the context of Genesis that determines this, we should remember that, as the psalmist wrote in Psalm 90:4, “A thousand years are as a day in your sight”, speaking, of course, about God. Modern science also tells us that the earth is billions of years old, and there is no room for this anywhere except in creation.

This is the defense of the Framework position. The question: Do you really believe this complicated theory, which states that the chief thing not to be taken literally is the order in which the events of creation occurred, is what God was trying to convey in Genesis, or is this just another attempt to make the Bible fit the conclusions of modern science? The answer could be that there are people who view the Genesis account of Creation as written in a poetic form, and so the world was not necessarily made in the order that Genesis says.

This closing paragraph will state which viewpoint I believe. Here’s the answer: the 24/7 view. It makes the most sense to me, due to the argument listed above, and others that I would probably come up with if I thought about it long enough. Once again, please feel free to comment on this. I really want to have a better argument for what I believe. Ciao!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “How long did creation take?

  1. Glenda on said:

    I like your thoughts on this ~ Gram

  2. grannysuebuster on said:

    I’m with you…24/7 seems to make the most sense. However, I have heard it debated that 24/7 may not be 24/7 as we know it and that debate seems plausible as well. In my mind…it really doesn’t matter. It’s one of the many things that is definitely not worth arguing about but is sometimes an interesting topic for debate.

  3. Terry Buster, Sr on said:

    I’m going to limit my comment to those who would speak of Gen 1-2 as poetry. While there are a couple of verses (1:27, 2:23) that are undeniably Hebrew poetry. From what I’ve studied, the rest of the account is not. There may be symbolic language, but to call the whole thing poetry is to ignore what Hebrew poetry is I the rest of the Bible

    • I thought so too. The first time I read about this theory, I had no idea what they were talking about. It took me a while to even come up with that defense for that theory.

  4. Tim Buster on said:

    So, not being nearly as knowledgeable about these things as others, I have a question. You spoke of the Hebrew word “day” meaning the same as we use it in today’s language. What word was used there, and where else was it used in the original text? If it was consistently used to mean a 24 hour period, then I can understand your defence. Just curious…

    Tim

    • Sorry for taking so long to answer. The Hebrew word used here was yom, and that word always means a twenty-four hour day, unless the context determines otherwise. This makes the study of Creation depend on where you already stand, as context can be read into the story.

Leave a Reply

